Monday, April 16, 2012

Don't Keep the Change

Ramada Oasis Hotel & Convention Center Maintenance
Worker Jon Brown suggested that all the money collected
from the hotel's fountains be donated to the Make-A-Wish
Fondation. Now the hotel donates every penny and owner
Robert Low matches every donation made in the fountails.
/Nathan Papes/News-Leader
by: Springfield News-Leader - April 14, 2012

Jon Brown spent two years watching coins fall into the fountains at the Ramada Oasis hotel and convention center.

The hotel has three indoor fountains and more outside, and it’s Brown’s job to clean them periodically. The coins were saved for employee parties or some other function.
“Everyone tosses change in the fountains and makes a wish — so I thought, let’s donate to Make-A-Wish,” Brown said.

The Make-A-Wish Foundation grants the wishes of local children with life-threatening illnesses. He said what planted the idea in his head was a party at the hotel. A young girl had asked for a pool party as her wish through the foundation. Brown said he was touched that of all the things the girl could have requested, all she wanted was a chance to swim with friends.

“It was that pool party that really got me thinking,” Brown said. “Children are amazing, so simple. It’s just the littlest things.” He told General Manager Missy Handyside about his idea, and she passed it on to hotel owner Robert Low. “It was just a great idea, and we just had great support,” Handyside said.

Low jumped on board, and even offered to match all the donations made in the fountains.
But the idea didn’t stop there. The hotel contacted Springfield Sign & Neon, which donated plaques for each of the fountains explaining the program. The sign company designed and installed the plaques, and didn’t ask for any credit in the process.“They didn’t even put their logo on it or anything,” Brown said.

In January, the hotel and Low presented more than $500 to the organization. Handyside and Brown expect that amount to grow, as more people notice the signs and chip in a bit more than before. “It’s a lot more quarters,” Brown said. As proud as he is of the program, he hopes it doesn’t stop with the Ramada Oasis.
“There’s other ideas people can come up with. “And other foundations too,” he said.

David White & Prime Drivers Bring Home Hardware - MoTA Safety Conference

David White (Prime Inc.) - MoTA Safety Director of the Year
Jefferson City, MO --The 2012 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Spring Safety Conference was attended by nearly 80 Safety Professionals and featured ten speakers.   The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at the Country Club Hotel & Spa, Lake Ozark, Missouri, March 21 & 22, 2012.
    The conference was highlighted by the 65th annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with nearly 150 company officials in attendance.
    For thirty-one of the last thirty-two years, the Missouri Trucking Association has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users.  Accepting the award was Danny Sexton, who served as Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors during the 2010 contest period.     
    Three major fields of safety -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month and 2011 Driver of the Year; and the Safety Director of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.   
   The 2011 Missouri Driver of the Year is Robert Miller, a driver for Transport Distribution Company of Joplin, MO.  Mr. Miller has been a professional driver for over 30 years and has driven nearly four million miles during his career.
   Colonel Ron Replogle, Superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, presented Mr. Miller with a ring and a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety.
    After having received an engraved watch and resolutions from state legislators during ceremonies at their own companies, the Drivers of the Month for 2011 were presented with a commemorative engraved memento from the Missouri Trucking Association.  Introducing each of the drivers was Tom Kolb of Midland Transports in Jefferson City, MO and Chair of the MoTA Board of Directors.  The drivers of the month, their company and hometown are listed below:
January - Robert Miller, Transport Distribution Company, Miami, OK
February - Henry Grider, TCSI/Transland, Inc., Aurora, MO
March - Ronald Hoover, Prime Inc., Casper, WY                         
April - Chester Surface, Jack's Truck Rental, Holts Summit, MO
May - Mark Bramel, O & S Trucking, Inc., Sulphur Springs, AR
June - Glen Horack, Prime Inc., Elkland, MO  
July - Charles Mason Conlee, Prime Inc., Fair Grove, MO  
August - Thomas Miller, Prime Inc., Bunker Hill, IL
September - Larry Thurman, Walmart* Transportation, Lake Ozark, MO
October - Gerald Hulsey, D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO
November - Ralph 'Gene' Conduff, D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO
December - Donald Decan, Transport Distribution Company, Russellville, AR
    Dave White
, Prime Inc., Springfield, MO, was presented the "Safety Director of the Year" award for his outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, his company and the community.  Presenting the winner's plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association to Mr. White was Jim Pruett, the current Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors.
    The Grand Trophy winner in the "Fleet Safety Contest", a competition among motor carrier fleets for the best "no-accident" record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2010-2011 contest period, was Transport Distribution Company of Joplin, MO.  Accepting the trophy on behalf of Transport Distribution Company were Mr. Steve Page and Mr. Larry Kloeppel.
    Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by John Joines, assisted by Jim Pruett and Brent Stacy, both of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards.  The winner in the "Local Division" was FedEx Freight, Harrison, Arkansas.  Honorable mention in the local division went to D & D Sexton, Inc. Carthage, MO.  
    In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was Hull Trucking, Inc., Old Appleton, MO.  Honorable mention in the Up to One Million Miles category went to Twehous Excavating, Inc. of Jefferson City, MO.
    The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was Transport Distribution Company, Joplin, MO; honorable mention in this category went to D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO.
    In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was Walmart* Transportation, St James, MO; honorable mention in this category went to FedEx Freight, Harrison, Arkansas.